Taylor, Bailey Finalists for BCF Hall of Fame

October 15, 2018

The Black College Football Hall of Fame announced on Thursday, October 4, the 25 Finalists for induction into the Class of 2019 Black College Football Hall of Fame. The list includes former Virginia Union University coaches Joe Taylor and Willard Bailey.

The total list consists of 22 players and three coaches.

Taylor, the current Athletic Director at VUU, coached Howard University 1983; Virginia Union 1984-1991; Hampton University 1992-2007 and Florida A&M University 2008-2012.  He won four National Championships, 14 Conference Championships, 7 Bowl Games, and had a lifetime win-loss record of 233-96-4.

Bailey coached Virginia Union 1971-1983 and 1995-2003; Norfolk State 1984-1992; St. Paul's 2005-2010 and Virginia-Lynchburg 2011-2013.  Bailey became an assistant football coach in 1964 under the legendary Thomas "Tricky Tom" Harris.  In 1971 Bailey took over as head coach of the Panthers and would collect a school-record 151 coaching wins between 1971-83 and 1995-2003.  Bailey never had a losing season between 1971 and 1983 while Virginia Union had a streak of 21 straight winning seasons (1971-91).

The Finalists were selected from a field of over 150 nominees by a 12-member Selection Committee composed of prominent journalists, commentators, historians, former NFL General Managers and football executives.

"We congratulate the Finalists for the Class of 2019," said James "Shack" Harris, Black College Football Co-Founder and 2012 Inductee. "Each of these Finalists made a significant impact on the game of football, both in college and the professional ranks."

The committee will meet again in the coming weeks to select the six members (five players and one coach) who will be inducted as the Black College Football Hall of Fame Class of 2019.

"The talent that has come from Black College Football programs is incredible," said Committee Chairman Roscoe Nance, "and that makes selecting the honorees incredibly difficult. Thanks to our Selection Committee for its dedication and commitment and for the tremendous amount time and effort that the members put into making these decisions."

This year's inductees will be announced on October 25, 2018. They will be honored during the Black College Football Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, on February 16, 2019 in Atlanta, Georgia. For more information, please visit www.BlackCollegeFootballHOF.org.


• Joe "747" Adams (QB, Tennessee State University, 1977-1980)

• Coy Bacon (DL, Jackson State University, 1964-1967)

• Dwaine Board (DE, North Carolina A&T State University, 1975-1978)

• Emerson Boozer (RB, University of Maryland Eastern Shore, 1962-1965)

• Greg Coleman (P, Florida A&M University, 1972-1975)

• Kevin Dent (S, Jackson State University, 1985-1988)

• Hugh Douglas (DE, Central State University, 1991-1994)

• Donald Driver (WR, Alcorn State University, 1995-1998)

• Earl "Air" Harvey (QB, North Carolina Central University, 1985-1988)

• James Hunter (DB, Grambling State University, 1972-1975)

• Richard "Tombstone" Jackson (DE, Southern University, 1962-1965)

• Henry Lawrence (OL, Florida A&M University, 1970-1973)

• Frank Lewis (WR, Grambling State University, 1967-1970)

• Robert Mathis (LB, Alabama A&M University, 1999-2002)

• Tyrone McGriff (OL, Florida A&M University, 1976-1979)

• John "Big Train" Moody (RB, Morris Brown College, 1939-1941)

• Timmy Newsome (RB/KR, Winston Salem State University, 1976-1979)

• Nate Newton (OL, Florida A&M University, 1979-1982)

• John Taylor (WR, Delaware State University, 1982-1985)

• Johnny Walton (QB, Elizabeth City State University, 1965-1968)

• Erik Williams (OL, Central State University, 1987-1990)

• Roynell Young (DB, Alcorn State University, 1976-1979)


• Willard Bailey (Head Football Coach, Virginia Union 1971-1983 and 1995-2003; Norfolk State 1984-1992; St. Paul's 2005-2010; Virginia-Lynchburg 2011-2013)

• Arnett "Ace" Mumford (Head Football Coach, Jarvis Christian 1924-1926; Bishop College 1927-1929; Texas College 1931-1935; Southern University 1936-1961)

• Joe Taylor (Howard University 1983; Virginia Union 1984-1991; Hampton University 1992-2007; Florida A&M University 2008-2012)

About the Black College Football Hall of Fame

The Black College Football Hall of Fame was founded in 2009 by African-American pioneers, quarterbacks James Harris and Doug Williams to preserve the history and honor the greatest football players, coaches and contributors from Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs). There have been 77 Inductees since inception, including Mel Blount, James Harris, Willie Lanier, Art Shell and Doug Williams, who serve as Trustees.